BUILDING A WELL IN NANDERE, UGANDA

PROJECT DETAILS

Country

Uganda

Goal

To provide water supply for a village

Realization

Construction of a well as well as the laying of several hundred meters of pipes

People helped

500 villagers, two schools, a hospital and a church

It all began with volunteering in Uganda. Steven had decided to make a meaningful trip and wanted to help the village of Nandere with agriculture, and that’s what he did. He pruned a pine forest, cultivated banana plants and assisted in the planting of a eucalyptus forest.

Although he had helped as best as he could during the volunteering, he knew that he could not have provided any long-term assistance. So he asked the local people what they needed urgently. Most of the answers expressed the desire for rain and water. Since Steven is a very bad dancer (and an even worse rain dancer), he spontaneously offered his assistance. The result was a long-term project over several months. On site, he met with local engineers, started to make a plan and made sure to take a lot of details and information back to Germany.

Back in Germany, he set up a donation site on betterplace.org. He raised money and joined “Technik ohne Grenzen”, a German NGO. He met two more people dedicated to the project, Hannes and Steffen. In the following weeks, the three Berliners raised the necessary amount of funds for the construction of a well in the Ugandan village.

The construction project became a huge success. Inspired by this achievement of building a well for a whole community, we knew even back then that this wouldn’t be our last joint project.

You can find the complete story of the well construction here (German).

We blogged live on site. You can find all eight entries of the fountain-builder-diary here (German).

BRUNNENBAU IN NANDERE, UGANDA

PROJEKTDETAILS

Land

Uganda

Ziel

Wasserversorgung eines Dorfs

Umsetzung

Bau eines Brunnens sowie die Verlegung von mehreren hundert Metern Rohren

Geholfenen Menschen

500 Dorfbewohnern, zwei Schulen, einem Krankenhaus und einer Kirche

Alles fing damals mit einem Volunteering in Uganda an. Steven hatte beschlossen eine sinnvolle Reise zu unternehmen und wollte im Dorf Nandere in Uganda in der Landwirtschaft helfen. Das tat er schlussendlich auch. Er beschnitt einen Kiefernwald, pflegte Bananenpflanzen und unterstützte bei der Pflanzung eines Eukalyptus-Waldes.

Am Ende des Volunteerings stellte er fest, dass er zwar gut geholfen hatte, aber keine langfristige Hilfe gegeben hatte. Also fragte er die Menschen im Dorf, was sie ganz dringend bräuchten. Unter den meisten Antworten waren die Wünsche nach Regen und Wasser zu hören. Da Steven ein denkbar schlechter Tänzer und ein noch schlechterer Regentänzer ist, sagte er spontan seine Hilfe zu. Es entstand ein Projekt, das über Monate andauerte. Noch vor Ort traf er sich mit Ingenieuren, machte einen Plan und sorgte dafür viele Details und Informationen mit nach Deutschland zu nehmen.

Zurück in Deutschland setze er eine Spendenseite auf betterplace.org auf, sammelte Geld uns schloss sich Technik ohne Grenzen e.V. an. Dort lernte er Hannes und Steffen kennen. Nun waren sie schon zu dritt. In den weiteren Wochen sammelten die drei Berliner ausreichend finanzielle Mittel, um den Brunnen im Dorf Nandere zu bauen. Unser Brunnenporjekt wurde zu einem vollen Erfolg. Von diesem Erfolg beflügelt, wussten wir schon damals, dass dies nicht das letzte gemeinsame Projekt gewesen sein kann.

Die detailierte Geschichte des Brunnenbaus findest du hier.

Vor Ort haben wir live gebloggt. Alle acht Einträge im Brunnenbauer-Tagebuch findest du hier.