CLEAN DRINKING WATER FOR SCHOOLS IN BWEYALE VILLAGE, UGANDA

PROJECT DETAILS

Country

Uganda

Goal

To provide clean drinking water for the schools in Bweyale

Realization

Donation of 4 AQQA-cubes and 10 AQQA-bags for filtering polluted water

People helped

700 children and caregivers drink Bweyales contaminated water every day

In northern Uganda the refugee village Bweyale has formed along the Bobi Masindi Road. Approximately 100,000 people from very different countries and cultures live there. Many of them have fled Southern Sudan.

The association Life for all e.V. has been active on the ground since 2008, even bought land in 2011 and then built several schools. In this way, 120 children receive a valuable and important education for the future. But there is a problem in the village: there is not enough clean drinking water available.

In total, there are three different water sources in the village. There is a water hole which is very dirty and is used for washing the laundry as well as for cleaning motorcycles. It cannot be used as drinking water.

Another source of water are three hand dug wells. The wells are not very deep, but provide water almost all year round. However, the water quality is very poor. Several people have already suffered from typhoid fever after consuming this water.

And then there is a local water pipe with classic tap water. However, the pressure is so weak that the water rarely arrives on site. It is also too expensive for most people.

We want to remedy the acute shortage of drinking water. For this we collect donations. In the first phase of the project, we provide 4 AQQA-cubes (4 x 985 Euro) and ten AQQA-bags (46 Euro each) for the schools of Bweyale. The aim is to create a solution as quickly as possible. Typhoid fever can be fatal and has already cost the lives of several local people. So we must not lose any time.

The filter product AQQA-cube can be used for twelve months. During this time, it filters at least 400 litres of water during a operation time of 8 hours per day. In addition, we provide the children’s village with ten AQQA-bags.

One AQQA-bag can be used for about six months and saves about 540 PET bottles based on its filter performance. We distribute the AQQA-baga on site free of charge and pay out a small bonus if returned to us after six months. We also gather feedback information about the use of the bag. That way, we prevent unrecycled plastic waste and receive valuable feedback for the further development of our products.

If the first project phase is successful and the diseases in the children’s village are reduced, we will try to find a long-term filter solution on site.

For this, we need to raise approximately
4 x 985,00 € = 3940,00 € for the AQQA-cubes
10 x 46,00 € = 460,00 € für the AQQA-bags
1 x 660,00 € = 660,00 € transport costs
= 5060,00 € for clean drinking water for 700 people.

WeWater gUG
Bank für Sozialwirtschaft
IBAN: DE86 1002 0500 0001 6026 01
BIC-/SWIFT: BFSWDE33BER

Please indicate your first and last name and purpose of your donation (Water Filter Bweyale).

SAUBERES TRINKWASSER FÜR DIE SCHULEN IM DORF BWEYALE IN UGANDA

PROJEKTDETAILS

Land

Uganda

Ziel

Sauberes Trinkwasser für die Schulen in Bweyale

Umsetzung

Spende von 4 AQQA-cube und 10 AQQA-bag zur Filtration von Wasser zu Trinkwasser

Menschen in Not

700 Kinder und Betreuer trinken in diesem Teil Bweyales täglich verunreinigtes Wasser

Im Norden Ugandas hat sich entlang der Bobi Masindi Road das Flüchtlingsdorf Bweyale gebildet. Dort leben etwa 100.000 Menschen aus ganz unterschiedlichen Ländern und Kulturen. Viele von ihnen sind aus dem Südsudan geflüchtet.

Der Verein Life for all e.V. setzt sich seit 2008 vor Ort ein, hat 2011 sogar Land gekauft und hat danach mehrere Schulen gebaut. So wird wertvolle und für die Zukunft so wichtige Schulbildung an 120 Kinder vermittelt. Doch im Dorf gibt es ein Problem: Es steht nicht ausreichend sauberes Trinkwasser zur Verfügung.

Insgesamt gibt es vor Ort drei verschiedene Wasserquellen. Es gibt ein Wasserloch, das sehr verdreckt ist und für das Waschen der Wäsche genauso wie für das Reinigen der Motorräder genutzt wird. Als Trinkwasser ist es unbrauchbar.

Eine weitere Wasserquelle sind drei handgegrabene Brunnen. Die Brunnen sind nicht sehr tief, liefern aber fast das ganze Jahr Wasser. Allerdings ist die Wasserqualität sehr schlecht. Mehrere Menschen sind nach dem Konsum dieses Wassers bereits an Typhus erkrankt.

Und dann gibt es vor Ort noch eine Wasserleitung mit klassischem Leitungswasser. Allerdings ist der Druck so schwach, dass nur sehr sehr selten das Wasser auch vor Ort ankommt. Außerdem ist es kostenpflichtig, so dass es nicht von allen Menschen entnommen werden kann.

Den akuten Trinkwassermangel wollen wir beheben. Dafür sammeln wir Spenden und stellen vier AQQA-cube (985 Euro) und zehn AQQA-bags (je 46 Euro) für die Schulen von Bweyale zur Verfügung. Damit soll eine schnellstmögliche Lösung geschaffen werden. Typhus ist unter Umständen tödlich und hat schon einigen Menschen vor Ort das Leben gekostet. Wir dürfen also keine Zeit verlieren.

Das Filterprodukt AQQA-cube kann zwölf Monate genutzt werden und filtert von einer Betriebszeit von 8 Stunden ausgehend 400 Liter Wasser pro Tag. Als Ergänzung stellen wir dem Kinderdorf noch zehn AQQA-bag zur Verfügung. Damit sollen die Menschen Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser erhalten, die abseites der Wasserquellen leben.

Ein AQQA-bag kann etwa sechs Monate genutzt werden und spart in diesem Zeitraum auf Basis seiner Filterleistung bei durchgängigem Betrieb etwa 540 PET-Flaschen ein. Wir verteilen den AQQA-bag vor Ort kostenlos und zahlen bei der Rückgabe nach sechs Monaten sowie der Beantwortung eines Feedbackbogens einen kleinen Bonus aus. So verhindern wir unrecycelten Plastikmüll und erhalten wertvolles Feedback für die Weiterentwicklung unserer Produkte.

Ist die erste Projektphase erfolgreich und werden die Krankheiten im Kinderdorf reduziert, bemühen wir uns um eine langfristige Filterlösung vor Ort .

Bis dahin benötigen wir voraussichtlich

4 x 985 € = 3940,00 € für die vier AQQA-cube
10 x 46 € = 460,00 € für zehn AQQA-bag
1 x 660 € = 660,00 € Transportkosten
= 5060,00 € für sauberes Trinkwasser für 700 Menschen.

WeWater gUG
Bank für Sozialwirtschaft
IBAN: DE86 1002 0500 0001 6026 01
BIC-/SWIFT: BFSWDE33BER

Gib bitte Vor- und Nachnamen und Verwendungszweck deiner Spende (Wasserfilter Bweyale) an.