Hi! We are the founders of WeWater.

We are a team of open-minded people who want to make a difference – with your help.

Potable water is distributed fairly unequally in the world. In Europe, we mostly have a very good water supply and possess the technical know-how to extract and clean it. In other parts of the world, it’s not that easy – due to economic or physical water stress, for instance.

But that is not a reason for us to bury our heads in the sand, on the contrary. It is our incentive to change this status quo. Together with our water filtration innovation, we are committed to all those people without access to clean and safe water supplies. And with your help, we can achieve something truly meaningful.

Steven Hille

Steven is the author of the sustainable travel blog Funkloch. At some point, he thought that he should only realize projects if they help the world to become a better place. Since then, he raised donations for a tiger baby, supported a national bee project and built a well in Uganda.

Thilo Kunz

Thilo is studying communication and political sciences at the Free University of Berlin. He has been working at the French news agency AFP for four years. Today, he works with a communication consultancy. At WeWater, he is responsible for public relations.

Ulrich Weise

Ulrich has been working in the water treatment industry since 1992. In recent years, he built sewage treatment plants for companies, cruise liners and municipalities. His latest innovation is a durable filtration system with a high retention rate that cleans water without the use of energy.

Hannes Schwessinger

Hannes has a degree in law and has been involved in various projects for years. Among other things, he initiated a national recycling project in Ghana, was involved in Technik ohne Grenzen e.V. and supported a well construction project in Uganda.

Josephine Lins

Josi is studying Industrial Engineering and Management – Energy and Environmental Resources, previously with Technik ohne Grenzen e.V. (TeoG) in the Leipzig regional group and came across WeWater thanks to TeoG. As a WeWater team member since 2019, she is involved in fundraising and project implementation in Uganda.

Tomkin Odhiambo Odo

Tomkin has worked in Sierra Leone for two years as a consultant for water management. He currently works in the State Department of Water of Kenya as a water protection officer. He is our contact person for project site acquisition and implementation in Western Kenya.

Frank Paschen

Frank works as PR consultant for Elsner Kommunikation. He heard about WeWater by chance, found the idea brilliant and has been working for us on a voluntary basis ever since. In doing so, he supports us especially in the field of press relations.

Mina Schmidt

Mina works as an editor in the communications industry and studies African Studies in Berlin. At WeWater she supports us with communication on Instagram. She also contributes important experiences from her studies. Among other things she speaks Swahili.

These are our tasks at WeWater.

WeWater is a very young non-profit organization. We do not need a complex organizational chart. This is how we share our different work areas. All four partners work voluntarily for WeWater and do not receive a salary.

If you have any questions about our business areas, feel free to contact us.

Hannes Ulrich Thilo Steven Josi Tomkin Frank Mina
Management
Sponsor acquisitions
Project management
Project realisation
Project research
Finances
Funding acquisitions
Communication
Production

Die Wassersaubermacher*innen

Wir sind ein Team aus weltoffenen Menschen und wollen gemeinsam mit dir etwas bewegen. Mit vier Gesellschaftern sind wir gestartet. Inzwischen haben sich noch weitere Menschen WeWater angeschlossen. Die Mission ist klar: Trinkwasser ist auf unserer Erde leider sehr ungleich verteilt. Während wir in Europa sehr gut mit Trinkwasser versorgt sind und das technische Know-how besitzen, um es zu fördern und zu reinigen, sieht es an anderen Stellen der Erde ganz anders aus.

Doch das ist für uns kein Grund, um den Kopf in den Sand zu stecken. Das spornt uns an. Wir wollen das ändern. Zusammen mit unserer Innovation setzen wir uns für all die Menschen ein, die bisher noch keinen Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser haben. Und mit deiner Hilfe können wir etwas wirklich wichtiges bewirken.

Steven Hille

Steven ist der Autor des nachhaltigen Reiseblogs Funkloch. Irgendwann dachte er sich, dass er nur noch Projekte realisieren sollte, die einen guten Nutzen haben. Inzwischen sammelte er Spenden für ein Tigerbaby, unterstützte ein nationales Bienenprojekt, baute einen Brunnen in Uganda und gründete mit Thilo, Hannes und Ulrich WeWater.

Thilo Kunz

Thilo studiert Kommunikations- sowie Politikwissenschaft an der Freien Universität Berlin und arbeitete über vier Jahre bei der Nachrichtenagentur AFP. Heute ist er für eine Kommunikationsberatung tätig und verantwortet bei uns die Medien- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit.

Ulrich Weise

Ulrich arbeitet seit 1992 in der Wasseraufbereitung. Er hat in den letzten Jahren Kläranlagen für Unternehmen, Kreuzfahrtschiffe und Kommunen gebaut. Seine neueste Innovation ist ein Wasserfilter, der mit einer großen Rückhaltewirkung Wasser energiefrei reinigt.

Hannes Schwessinger

Hannes ist Diplom-Jurist und engagiert sich seit Jahren in diversen Projekten. Unter anderem hat er in Ghana ein nationales Recyclingprojekt initiiert, engagierte sich bei Technik ohne Grenzen e.V. und hat einen Brunnenbau in Uganda unterstützt.

Josephine Lins

Josi studiert Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen – Energie- und Umweltressourcen, war zuvor bei Technik ohne Grenzen e.V. (TeoG) in der Regionalgruppe Leipzig tätig und ist dank TeoG auf WeWater gestoßen. Als WeWater Teammitglied seit 2019 dabei, beschäftigt sie sich mit Fundraising und Projektumsetzungen in Uganda.

Tomkin Odhiambo Odo

Tomkin hat zwei Jahre in Sierra Leone als Berater für Wassermanagement gearbeitet. Derzeit arbeite er im kenianischen State Department of Water als Wasserschutzbeauftragter. Er ist unser Ansprechpartner für Projektstandortakquisen und -umsetzungen im Westen Kenias.

Frank Paschen

Frank arbeitet als PR Berater für Elsner Kommunikation. Er hat zufällig von WeWater erfahren, fand die Idee genial und engagiert sich seitdem ehrenamtlich für uns. Dabei unterstützt er uns vor allem bei der Pressearbeit.

Mina Schmidt

Mina arbeitet als Redakteurin, in der Kommunikationsbranche und studiert Afrikawissenschaften in Berlin. Bei WeWater unterstützt sie uns mit der Kommunikation auf Instagram. Außerdem steuert sie wichtige Erfahrungen aus ihrem Studium bei. U.a. spricht sie Suaheli.

Diese Aufgaben übernehmen wir bei WeWater.

Die WeWater gUG ist eine sehr junge gemeinnützige Organisation. Wir brauchen kein aufwendiges Organigram: So teilen wir uns die Arbeit. Alle vier Gesellschafter und alle WeWater Heros arbeiten ehrenamtlich für WeWater und beziehen kein Gehalt.

Hast du Fragen zu einem unserer Geschäftsbereiche? Dann schreib uns eine Mail. Die Mailadressen sind oben unter unseren Profilbildern verlinkt.

Hannes Ulrich Thilo Steven Josi Tomkin Frank Mina
Geschäftsführung
Sponsorenakquise
Projektmanagement
Projektumsetzungen
Projektrecherche
Finanzen
Fördermittelakquise
Kommunikation
Produktion